Lifestyle · My Rhema · News & Entertainment

Blogger Recognition Award and Mystery Blogger Award 

I just have so much gratefullness in my heart for God’s sustainance all through this year – I’m standing here, only because you made a way! And I’m excited to finally share these 2 awards which I received a while back but the posts were pending 😊. Thank you to The Fallible Queen for nominating me for this award! You’re awesome 🙌. And thumbs up to Okoto , the creator of this award for bloggers. Okoto describes the award as “an award for bloggers with ingenious posts that are not only captivating, but also inspiring and motivating, with sure passion for writing”.

The Rules

1. Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog

2. Mention the creator of the award and provide a link as well

3. Tell your readers 3 things about yourself

4. Answer the questions from the nominator

5. Nominate 10-20 people and notify your nominees by commenting on their blog. Then ask your nominees any 5 questions of your choice

6. Share a link to your best post.

About me

1. Hi, my name is Joan. And I’m a blogger.

Now you say “Hi Joannnnn!”.

  1. The first one didn’t really count. I sort of cheated but let’s pretend you didn’t know my name 😁. Okay let’s see… I’m a Dietician. Currently pursuing my masters degree at the University of KwaZulu-Natal.

  2. I’ve learnt that there is no relationship more important than the one I have with God. And that I should never think I know more about God or boast for anything. Who I’m I that I should boast? What do I even know? All I can say is Imela, thank you for your grace that pierces into every situation and changes things/us 🌹.

My Answers to the questions asked

What is your favorite season?

Winter. I love the rain, the thunder and the lightening. I get so excited when it rains!

What is your favorite characteristic about yourself?

The fact that I can empathise with people, whether they are close to me or not. Somehow I am able to understand why people do the things they do or say the things they say, therefore I rarely get offended by people. Maybe it’s due to being a middle child or perhaps living in a country with intense prejudice. But I can trace actions/words back to perspective and just leave it at that – A perspective.

What do you look forward to in the future? (It can be distant or near)

Both distant, near, infact, daily. Fulfilling God’s plan for my life. I know everyday is all part of the plan unfolding and so I can count in today as part of the future. One day I want to look back and say ‘waow God, so this is where you were leading me to!’

What is a favorite memory of yours?

Thankfully, most of my favourite memories have been preserved in pictures! You all know my relationship with taking pictures 😂. I have so many favourite memories but the one I keep going back to is from this past Christmas vacation 2016, when my parents were playing table tennis. It was just awesome watching them play. They used to be tennis champs while in highschool and they still got it! Thankfully they passed down the awesome tennis genes to yours truly 🙌. They were playing against my cousin, who “let them win” yeah right! I’m grateful for my parents joy everyday.

Do you prefer hair masks or face masks?

Hair Mask 🙌. I have one on right now. A whole mixture of wonderful concuctions on my hair 😂. Hopefully I wake up to baby soft hair tomorrow morning – otherwise.

    Thank you my dearest Ijeoma for this recognition award! You would want to hop on over to her blog … That’s where I’m going after this post to see if she’s posted something new 😂.

    The Rules

    1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog

    2. Write a post to show your award

    3. Give a brief story of how you started your blog

    4. Give 2 pieces of advice to new bloggers

    5. Select 15 bloggers to give this award to and Comment on the blogs of these 15 bloggers and let them know that you have nominated them, providing a link to the post you created.

    How it all started

    In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth Genesis 1:1. True story. Need I say more?

    Alright, Take 2

    How I started The Curly Christian Girl

    Well, I started blogging in 2011 on blogspot. And until last year, I’d written hundreds of posts on blogspot with over 200k page views for that blog. However I just never enjoyed using blogspot. It was a long period of trail and error too because I blogged about things to fit certain trends or just to gain traffic. I finally reached a point where I just wanted to start afresh. Because I now understood what blogging was all about and also got to know myself better.

    This is a screen shot of my old blog almost exactly 1 year ago. I said I needed to reappear with a bang 😂. I’d lost all zeal to blog on blogspot, so I deleted the old blog and started afresh on WordPress. Yay! So here I am, loving every moment as I keep learning 😊.

    Blogging advice

    1. Comparison is the thief of Joy

    I won’t say much on this. I follow a famous Cameroonian blogger with over 1000 subscribers but 0 interactions on posts. While there’s another Ghanian blogger I follow with 40 subscribers but consistently great interactions. So it depends how you define progress or success. If you see blogging as competition, then you’ll end up frustrated when there are few followers.

    Blog about what you genuinely want to share. Not things other bloggers are writing about. What works for their audience may not work for yours. Also, you burn out your own creativity. When posts come from the heart, they’re easier to write than forced words to impress or match up to another blogger.

    2. Focus on Quality not Quantity.

    Take your time, don’t rush. It’s not an exam😂. Infact your blog is your space to show the world who you are. While none of us are perfect, we should still strive to keep improving. Instead of sharing rushed posts 4 times a week, why not share well put together posts 2 times a week. If you can’t think of a good enough topic, don’t force it. Carry on with your week and something will pop up! Small things like spelling and clear images make a great impression. And always reply comments, even if it’s days after (Like me sometimes, sorryyyyy). Also try keep up with your favourite bloggers out of WordPress. We’re not only here to pour out posts but also to learn from each other and grow!

    So before I turn this into a preach, here are my nominees for both awards!

    1. Sinakodjo

    2. Marie Abanga

    3. Vincent Desmond

    Questions

    1. Are you an introvert or extrovert or both?

    2. What do you love most about the country you’re in at the moment?

    3. If you could go back to one moment in your life, when would that be?

    Posts to catch up on

    1. Let’s talk Marriage Gists – 3 Misunderstandings Contrary to Popular Belief.

    2. This Backward African Mentality | A Girl Child Is Not Enough | Africans Don’t Adopt.

    Here’s to August being a great month!

    Joan 🌹

    22 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award and Mystery Blogger Award 

    1. Yay! I always love reading your posts: very jovial, clear and exciting lol. It’s really true though: honest posts are the best ones – they just flow! More power to your elbows Joan (and your fingers for typing😂)

      Liked by 2 people

    2. I didn’t click on a comment I was still typing, so I hope dear Joan you blame on… the cat lol
      So I was saying, I am honoured to be nominated and will get to officially accept both nominations in due and soonest time. As much as I love writing, time, time, time is fast escaping me it seems. Hope you are enjoying SA

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey Marie! I’m glad to hear😊. SA is a tough country to live in as there is a lot of prejudice against foreigners, but I’m looking forward to completing my studies soon 😊

        Like

        1. Hi Joan, so what I hear of that country is true? Foreigners even blacks? Sorry for them oh, it’s their loss. Am glad your parents still enjoy table tennis and your mum even does that in a caba! She must have been a pro. Good luck with your studies and girl you are a pretty person 😄

          Liked by 1 person

        2. It’s true ooo. Very disappointing especially knowing their history and the fact that it’s another African country. Thank you! Looking forward to coming home 😊🌹

          Like

    Leave a Reply

    