Casual Outfits · My Rhema · This Week in Style

25 Outfits to Show You All You Need to Know About Retro Style | Let’s #ThrowBack

How fab does my mom look? Let’s take a moment to marvel at the source of my physique and sense of style πŸ™Œ. Let’s go back in time shall we? 

I remember the day I took this picture. Mom took one look at my outfit and was like “Joan, we’re only going to the market ooo, everyone will know you’re a bush faller” πŸ˜‚. The irony is, when I look at her photos from when she was my age, we not only look the same but have the exact same sense of style. Obviously now it’ll be seen as retro or vintage, but back in their days, that’s just how they dressed. At the moment my style is a mix of retro, elegant and minimalistic.

Today I share with you my love for retro style, with the help of stunning retro instagramers. There are a few essential items to have, in order to dress the retro way and I hope I do justice in showing you what you need and how it’s done!

Let’s begin πŸ™Œ

Shoe candy anyone? The block heel started making a come back last year, and has quickly become a staple shoe for most fashion bloggers. Can I say staple shoe? Is that allowed? 😬

Instead of the 6 inch stilettos we have in our time, block heels were the in thing back in them days. Bright colours, block sandals, boots and cover shoes.

Block heels can be worn with any kind of outfit dressed up or down, elegant or retro. Plus ofcause, they’re more comfortable than thin heeled shoes which can’t be worn for all occasions. 

@t2pitchy shows us how it’s done! Let’s not get started on the bag and hat!

This one is a biggieeeeee! It’s also a more effortless way to wear the style. These days it can be difficult to find cool printed shirts in normal clothing shops ( well, here in my town) but the best places to find them are thrift shops, online shops or your parents wardrobe πŸ˜‚

The shirts can be a size bigger than you would normally wear if you would like an extra retro look. The more vibrant the patterns the better. It’s like a statement piece which makes you stand out without much effort. @village_geh & @princessaudu where did y’all get these shirts though?

Also, shirts with collars give the outfit an edgy look. That old school vibe yeh? πŸ˜‹

And I had to include this look I loved from wanshygirl. Check out her blog for more awesome retro outfits!

If you need like extra extra extra retro outfit inspiration, do lowkey stalk @cassiedaves on Instagram. I stumbled on her Instagram page this week and it’s just awesome. 

I say shades, but honestly it’s cool glasses with different shapes and unique frames. It adds to the whole look. I’d say, an almost essential accessory!

Who is this? Hehehe. It’s your girl OooπŸ™Œ. How much do you like my shades? I was dressing up to literally walk up the road, buy something small and come back home πŸ˜‚. But as they say, you never know where or when you’ll meet your husband. SooooooπŸ˜‚ 

I used to own a collection of glasses as cool as @t2pitchy & @cassiedaves own, but I lost them all from moving houses so many times. I hope to replace them soon when I start working by God’s grace.

Glasses really do add to a look and I love this one by @t2pitchy. (My thoughts) After reading this post I’m sure some people’s parents wardrobes are in trouble. 

These always remind me of Aladdin. Or some Arabic something something. But I love them! I own a lace one, which I throw over any simple outfit to make it more stylish πŸ˜‹.

They can be embroidered, brightly coloured, lace or patterned. Can be worn with skirts, jeans, dresses – casual stuff. 

Anyone remember those 80s/90s sitcoms, like Moesha, Sister Sister & Fresh Prince? How bold were their outfits? The colours were often mismatched or just bright but somehow just looked good.

Here’s @msadjei showing us how it’s done! And then I had to include this picture of my bestest cousin @vintagegawd (In peach shorts) and her friend. We are practically twins and I love her to bits! We stay thrift shopping and matching clothes. Her christian spoken word videos are life changing, and she inspires me greatly!

Here’s a link to her channel if you fancy some seriously amazing spoken word -“Lips of Love

Florals. This should have been first. I don’t think I own enough floral shirts, but it’s okay. I’m happy with the ones I have.

Again, the thing about retro style is that it is pretty simple. Not too many glamorous accessories, just simple statement pieces.  @azemezi & @cassiedaves

Hair goals anyone?😭

Now this one, I’m not too sure about. Meaning I have not quite experimented with socks yet. I bought a pair to try out though, so maybe there’s an outfit post loading 😬.

You have to be daring to try these out but I think if worn right, it’ll actually look pretty cool. Remember how ladies used to wear stockings and socks to church, that’s now translated into a retro trend.

My fav has got to be this outfit by @t2pitchy. I want the socks, the block heelscool shadescolourful dress and swag 😌

And last but definitely not least, is our ever reliable denim. If all the other items didn’t pick your fancy, then denim should do the job. Denim can be worn anyhow anyhow. Jumpsuit, dress, jacket, skirt and trousers.

@orrgram @cassiedavies @shellymokoena


It’s not skinny jeans that give a retro effect, but rather baggy jeans or boyfriend jeans as they’re called in some places. So stock up on a good pair! 

Here’s my pair, gifted to me by my bestest cousin and partner in retro outfits @vintagegawd. I wore this outfit for a post “In the Season of Trusting and Waiting“. 

This picture of @cassiedaves is making me miss home right now. Well, she’s in naija, but the surrounding vibe screams home. And as for her jumpsuit, one day, we will meet and discuss it. 

It’s been a while since I did a This Week In Style post, so I enjoyed putting this together! Yay πŸ™ŒπŸ’ƒ

πŸ’“ Joan. 

19 thoughts on “25 Outfits to Show You All You Need to Know About Retro Style | Let’s #ThrowBack

    1. Hihihi Thank you!!! When I saw your post on twitter about the shirts, I was busy drafting this post thinking to myself, I’m about to cause trouble πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

      Like

  1. So much fun to look through. I can’t even pick a favorites though Cassie’s rock. And yeah your words did make me remember the bright colours in Moesha, Fresh Prince et al.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just today I was saying to myself “is Joan not going to do a thisday in style post?” Now I realise how much catching up I need to do….lol
    Cassie knows her stuffπŸ‘Œ. I hope you don’t get obsessed like meπŸ˜‚
    Nice one ….like mother like daughter indeedπŸ‘­

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehehe…And just the other day I was thinking, where has Ijay disappeared to? Then I saw your post on Ms Jessica, who I’m now following too cause she’s just an inspiration😊. I guess after I will we almost expect to run into ourselves as the week goes onπŸ˜‚. Haha…as for Cassie, I’m trying to hold the obsession by stalking other bloggers tooπŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A certain trustee of mine in naija says network is faster and there are cheaper rates past midnight πŸ˜…. Just that you will have to wait up to try it out. 😬 ..look at me a the way here in SA throwing tips your wayπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚…ayeee don’t mind me

        Liked by 1 person

      2. The midnight ones are tru oo but they run out soo fast plus i don’t have the luxury of forfeiting my night sleeps that much, ….lol…but that is what i have had to do most times. Thank you Sis for throwing them tips my way oooo..the little things that make my heart smile.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Plus I’m sure day time gets so busy that by the time it’s night, you just want to sleep. It is well 😊😊. You’re so welcome πŸ˜„πŸ™ŒπŸ™Œ

        Like

Leave a Reply

