My Rhema · Soul Food

Money Can Buy You Happiness. But Is This What You Want? 

I don’t know why people say money can’t buy you happiness. It absolutely can! But permit me to ask, is this what you want? Is this what you need? Infact I’m asking myself the same question. Do I want happiness?

What is happiness though? Let’s ask Google. Google says ” The State of being happy”. Well, that doesn’t help much 😂. But we get that it’s a state. Now, what is a state? Being a true millennial, let’s hed back to Google. State: The particular condition that someone or something is in at a specific time. At a specific time? So then it is temporary. Happiness is temporary. Okay 😬

Here are 3 moments when I was in a happy state, these past few weeks. 

  1. Getting new clothes

My aunt decided to spoil her darling with fresh outfits! I was just beyond happy. Who doesn’t love new clothes. Scratch that, free new clothes!

  1. Buying a new pair of shoes

I don’t know why, because I was supposed to be on save mode, but I absolutely had to get these shoes! And like the others I have it has just become one of.

  1. Trying a new dish

It tasted like, and I quote ” A chicken and mayo sandwich that went to private school”. But the chef insisted it be called Vietnamese Chicken. Potato, Patata, Tomato, Tomama? 😬

But the temporary highs of happiness surely faded, when I returned to the reality of life. It’s funny how unexplainable challenges can erupt from no where and zap one out of their “happy state”. I asked myself, surely God did not intend for us to be just happy, because happiness is temporary. Surely he meant for us to experience something else that does not fade away in the midst of adversity. As I pondered on this while trying to plunge back into happiness by my own accord I realised my efforts were yielding no fruit. Infact my search for the method to attain tranquility in the midst of turmoil  now reminds me of a man called Jonah. Jonah always knew what he had to do. He was just too scared to and took off on his own agenda. But God, true to his predestined purpose brought Jonah back to where he was supposed to be. It sure was dark in the belly of that fish. But Jonah was able to sing praises to God from inside the fish, inspite of his “unhappy state”. Joy. Joy is what it was. 

As I explained all this to my dear friend, all it took to silence me was “Read your bible and get to know Jesus”. I sat quiet for a while, realising I heard what I had known in my heart was true all along.

What I’m I trying to say? Everything thing in this world is so temporary. Nothing else remains but the word of God. Nothing else truly satisfies but the word of God. 

Matthew 6:33 says But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. But sometimes we don’t seek first the kingdom of God. We seek other things, then God’s word is just like backup, in case we don’t find what we were looking for. But if we would just dedicate time to get to know Jesus, to actually get to know our creator, then we will live life a whole lot differently. Money can’t buy the gifts that God gives. Joy unspeakable, Peace unexplainable. Aren’t these things we all want?

We are not promised a trouble free life. Infact it seems infirmities appear in the life of a believer at least once. Some more than others. And if we go searching for answers in the wrong place, we’ll receive temporary solutions when God wants to give a permanent one. I have come to the conclusion that Joy becomes manifest when we fix our eyes of Jesus no matter what. And this is permanent. This reveals God’s glory. Which is the purpose of our existence anyways. It’s really not about us. It’s not about happiness.

Because he overcame it all, we too can overcome. But we have to do our part and seek him. We have to want more than happiness. Peace and Joy can only be found in one place – Jesus Christ.

Joan 💓

19 thoughts on “Money Can Buy You Happiness. But Is This What You Want? 

  1. Yet another one I love! Great insight Joan and you’re so right – money does buy happiness but it doesn’t buy joy and joy is the most valuable of the two… never thought of it like that! So much wisdom in this post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Tomi. Usually when I write, I write from a place of the learner not the teacher cause I myself am still trying to figure this thing called life, God being my helper. Are you back from your break? 😊

      Like

      1. Haha! I can relate – I’m exactly the same with TWW! Not quite back from my break yet – got a few more weeks to go but it’s certainly the countdown!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this. During this week, there were a lot of times that I felt nothing was going right for me. There were sometimes that I was happy but It never lasted and i ended up feeling sad again. But when I found joy and spent more time God’s presence, nothing was truly destory that joy even through the struggles. Thanks for this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heyiii 😊 Thanks for sharing your truth 👏. He says seek & you would find. So I’m on a journey of seeking that perfect joy, seeking truth in him. Ey lessons, lessons, lessons 😅. They just keep coming right? 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. woooooow! i am speechless Joan!! I couldn’t agree more with everything you wrote. Thank you for reminding me that truly, joy unspeakable comes from Christ Jesus. You write beautifully well and you inspire me to write more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

