My Rhema · Soul Food

There is More to Life than Life itself

Seasons will come, seasons will go. Seasons must come, so that they must go. 

I was reminded of this on my bus trip to Johannesburg this past weekend. I really needed a break from my quiet university town to a more welcomed buzz in Johannesburg. I spent 99% of the trip taking pictures of the most beautiful landscapes and scenery from Pietermaritzburg to Johannesburg. 

I absolutely love capturing the beauty around me, especially in nature. But honestly, my phone camera could not fully capture what my eyes saw.  But I had to share my pictures with you all 😊.

The day turned from a gloomy morning with light rain drizzles and dark clouds to a bright sunny day with lush green vegetation ending with fiery clouds. There was even a double rainbow at some point!

I sat there thinking waow, God you are beyond amazing! Look at all this beauty, everything created by you. I thought about the way the weather changed as the day went on and was reminded that in the same way, my life is a journey with seasons. No season is permanent. In God’s appointed time, things change. I felt comforted by the assurance that just like the weather, things change.

Ecclesiastes 3:1 “There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens” 

When was the last time you looked around you. Not just look randomly, but actually look and notice. I’m glad I was able to experience a moment of “noticing” on the bus. I spend a lot of time indoors working on my research project, and when I do go out, it’s usually for a quick errand. 

But when I took the time to look and notice, I literally felt so struck by how there is just so much more to life than my life. I was surrounded by peace and calm. In my seat at that moment, I was more content than I had been in a while. It reminded me that peace and serenity we all desire has already been given to us. 

John 14:26‭-‬27 “But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.  Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”

Perhaps our lives are too rushed and we forget what we have. Perhaps we need to look around more and notice what we would normally overlook and be reminded by nature of what we have. 
Seasons will come and seasons will go, but peace has been given to us for all times, to be still inspite of whatever may come. 

πŸ’“ Joan 

9 thoughts on “There is More to Life than Life itself

  1. I have to say that nothing reminds me of the awesomeness of God, quite like nature. Seeing sunrises and sunsets, flowers blooming and sudden rain (which we gets lots of in London) is a daily demonstration of God’s power and like you’ve said, He changes people’s circumstances just like the seasons!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m in the same boat as you and would LOVE to visit South Africa! Let me know when you’re coming to London – I’m sure it’s just a matter of time!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You are right, peace has already been given to us. What a great post. I love the emphasis on peacefulness, serenity, contentment and wonder at the beauty of God’s work. I love taking pictures of nature too. I don’t know if it’s just me but as much as I try to capture it pictures don’t just compare to the physical. How are you Joan? How was Easter?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Bisola! Hmmm it’s not just you hey…I’m glad I’ve found someone who understands. My camera does no justice to what I see. But i try to.capture anyways 😊. I’m doing great😊 thank you. There was a lot of running around on Easter, as my aunt was hosting a meeting. So pretty much what you explained in your previous post happened to me πŸ˜‚. But it was great!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a timely post! The seasons come and go. The seasons must change.
    And I love what you said about taking time to observe nature. Sometimes we hurry too much that we fail to pause and breathe it all in.
    Thanks for this post, Joan. Your camera might not have done the job you wanted but I can sense the peace from your photos.
    Thank you for sharing! Your blog is so lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

