My Rhema · Soul Food

How to Intentionally Grow in Life

If you don’t believe you can make a difference, no one else will. Who you perceive yourself to be, that’s who you’ll become.I woke up this morning feeling a sense of intense self belief and I’m intentionally working on positioning myself for growth. From the people I surround myself with, to the words I read and the voices I listen to – They all have to inspire me to grow. But it all begins with me believing in myself and in God who holds my destiny ❤.

I’ve decided to be more intentional about growing in my faith, friendships, academics and my blog. These are 4 things I believe should be done when seeking to step into a better you.

1. Quit Comparison

Comparing ones self to another really slows down your own ability to grow. You become so fixated on : their successful blog, amazing spiritual life or even their successes. Once this happens, you risk losing your own drive or creativity, telling yourself you’re just never going to get there. There is a difference between admiring someone for whatever reason and comparing yourself to them. When you admire for example a friend who is very firm in her faith, you begin to see how you can work on yourself to improve. Or maybe you fancy a blog you’re subscribed to. You will grow faster by learning what you can from this successful blogger, instead of trying to compare and critique your own work.

2. Choose your associates wisely

Surround yourself with positive minds, wise minds and people who are one step ahead of you in life. Proverbs 13:20 ” Whoever walks with the wise becomes wise, but the companion of fools will suffer harm”. If this means distancing yourself from that negative friend who won’t stop highlighting your insecurities or somehow does not celebrate your successes with you, then so be it. You want to be surrounded by an environment that inspires you. So from the Instagram accounts you follow, places you visit, people you talk to, what you watch on YouTube…Think before you engage – Is this going to help me be better and do better?

3. Choose honesty over false praise

Imagine doing 1/2 of what you’re actually capable of doing, and receiving a round of applause for it? Wouldn’t you just sit down and say, okay I have arrived? You want to make sure you have people in your life who can be real with you and tell you when you have messed up, where you can improve and when you have truly done great! This may be a parent, friend or mentor. But find this person and keep them close. Proverbs 19:20 “Listen to advice and accept instruction, that you may gain wisdom in the future”. My parents and sisters are certainly my source of honesty, over false praise.

4. God over Man

Last, but actually the most important. There were periods in my life when I sought validation from mere human beings. I thought maybe if they think this or that about me is cool, then I’ll believe it even more and be inspired to grow in that aspect more. But that believe is so so so very wrong. You owe NO ONE an application for approval. You were approved and stamped with a seal of validation by the king of kings, before you were even born. So why waste your time seeking what you already have? Pray about your goals daily. Invite God into your journey of growth. Have him sit in your boat as you journey along. With him in your boat you will never go missing or sink. With God in your boat, you will surely arrive – and then you can say, ” Allow me to reintroduce myself! “.

Here’s to Intentional Growth!

  •  Joan.
7 thoughts on “How to Intentionally Grow in Life

  1. Great, great points. My best quote – ‘I didn’t come this far, to only come this far.’

    “Invite God into your journey of growth. Have him sit in your boat as you journey along.” You know something that’s better than inviting God into your journey and sitting in your boat? Him pointing at a direction and choosing the boat, saying “That’s where WE should go”. I find that’s better and safer than us starting a journey, picking the boat, then inviting Him later.

    Lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Oma! Very valid point you’ve made there. I like it a lot 😊. We have to start the journey with God and fully depend on him, but at the same time we have to do our part. Take steps of Faith because sometimes I don’t even know what direction God is Pointing at. So I just take a leap of Faith, then God reveals himself and leads. God always tests our faith and gives us free will to make our own decisions. But if we’re guided by the spirit, then we need not worry about making the wrong one or choosing the wrong boat, but just choose it in faith.💓

      Like

Leave a Reply

